Republic of North Macedonia

Honorary Consul

Mr. Soy Martua Pardede

Republic of North Macedonia


Hon. Soy Martua Pardede was born on October 4, 1940, graduated from the Faculty of Economics of Kagawa University, Japan in 1966 under war repairmen scholarship, with the graduation thesis “Inflationary Method to Finance the Economic Development”. He accomplished various training and special courses in several banks and financial institutions such as Nomura Securities, Sumitomo Bank, Industrial Bank of Japan, Japan Development Bank, Bank of Tokyo, Long Term Credit Bank of Japan, Export-Import Bank of Japan, Bank of Japan and Permanin Management Course.

Show More

Beside building his own companies since 1975, Hon. Pardede actively involved in various organizations such as number of positions in Indonesian Chamber of Commerce & Industry (ICCI) such as Vice President of ICCI in Trade, Chairman of the newly established Special Committee on Good Corporate Governance (GCG) of Kadin Indonesia, From there he then became Advisor in the 3-Pilars Partnership (public/Government, business community and civil society) to eradicate corruption.

Hon. Pardede was instrumental in the process of enactment of the competition law in 1999 and elected as the Commissioner of the Indonesia Commission Competition (Komisi Pengawas Persaingan Usaha/KPPU) by the President of the Republic of Indonesia on the approval of the Parliament in 2000. In December 2006 he completed his term as Commissioner of KPPU, after twice extended.

Hon. Pardede became an Honorary Consul of the Republic of North Macedonia to the Republic of Indonesia upon receiving the Exequatur from the Government of the Republic of Indonesia on 12 June 2008. But before that, in 2002, Hon. Pardede has also been appointed as an Honorary Consul of Jamaica.

On 21 August 2008 together with 6 (six) other Honorary Consuls, Hon. Perdede established the Perkumpulan Konsul Kehormatan Indonesia (Association of Honorary Consuls to Indonesia = AHCI), and became a President of AHCI until June 2016.

North Macedonia

North Macedonia (Macedonia before February 2019), officially the Republic of North Macedonia, with Skopje as its capital city, is a country in Southeast Europe. It gained independence on 8 September 1991 as one of the successor states of Yugoslavia. North Macedonia is a landlocked country bordering with Kosovo to the northwest, Serbia to the north, Bulgaria to the east, Greece to the south, and Albania to the west. It constitutes approximately the northern third of the larger geographical region of Macedonia. Skopje, the capital and largest city, is home to a quarter of the country’s 1.83 million population (2021 census). The majority of the residents are ethnic Macedonians, a South Slavic people. Albanians form a significant minority at around 25%, followed by Turks, Romanian, Serbs, Bosnians, Aromanians, and a few other minorities.

Show More

During the First World War, it was ruled by Bulgaria, but after the end of the war, it returned to being under Serbian rule as part of the newly formed Kingdom of Serbs, Croats, and Slovenes. During the Second World War, it was ruled by Bulgaria again and in 1945 it was established as a constituent state of communist Yugoslavia, which it remained until its peaceful secession in 1991. The country became a member of the United Nations in April 1993, but as a result of a dispute with Greece over the name “Macedonia”, it was admitted under the provisional description “the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia” (abbreviated as “FYR Macedonia” or “FYROM”). In June 2018, Macedonia and Greece resolved the dispute with an agreement that the country should rename itself “Republic of North Macedonia”. This renaming came into effect in February 2019.

North Macedonia is a parliamentary democracy with an executive government composed of a coalition of parties from the unicameral legislature and an independent judicial branch with a constitutional court. The Assembly is made up of 120 seats and the members are elected every four years. The role of the president is mostly ceremonial, with the real power resting in the hands of the prime minister. The president is a head of the state of North Macedonia – the commander-in-chief of the state armed forces and a president of the State Security Council. The president is elected every five years and he or she can be elected twice at most. The Prime Minister, officially the President of the Government of the Republic of North Macedonia, is a head of government of North Macedonia.

North Macedonia has a total area of 25,713 km2 (9,928 sq mi). North Macedonia has some 748 km (465 mi) of boundaries, shared with Serbia, Kosovo, Bulgaria, Greece and Albania. It is a transit way for shipment of goods from Greece, through the Balkans, towards Eastern, Western and Central Europe and through Bulgaria to the east.

The most significant tourism branches are lake tourism as there are three lakes in Ohrid, Prespa and Dojran and over 50 small glacial lakes of variable sizes, and mountainous tourism as there are 16 mountains higher than 2,000 meters. Ohrid, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, is considered to be one of the oldest lakes and biotopes in the world. Other forms of tourism also include rural and ecotourism, city tourism and cultural tourism, represented through gastronomy, traditional music, cultural celebrations and cultural heritage sites.




Get In Touch

Should you need further information about our consular office,  feel free to contact us. Thank you!